Chapbook 2011

Congratulations to the poetry contest winners!

Lin Max, chapbook winner, is a Santa Rosa artist and poet. She won first prize in the Bibliophoria Poetry Chapbook Contest for “What the Flowers Dream.”  Contest judge Gwynn O’Gara, Sonoma County Poet Laureate, described the work as “transcendent, exciting, and beautifully crafted.”

Lin Max with Eric Johnson at Iota Press

Lin Max with Eric Johnson at Iota Press

John Johnson from Petaluma was selected as a Broadside winner for his poem “My Father Forgets Himself” from his chapbook “California Knockdown and Other Poems.”

Susan Adams, an artist/poet who is also from Petaluma, was selected as a Broadside winner for the title poem in her chapbook entry “What We Keep.”

The chapbook edition and broadsides were printed at Iota Pressin Sebastopol, Eric Johnson, Iota’s publisher, prints literary and graphic work by hand, using wood and metal type on old presses. Eric advised the contest winners on design and font choices, and they assisted in printing and binding.The poets participated in a reading to celebrate their work, moderated by Gwynn O’Gara, at Copperfield’s in Sebastopol on June 10, 2011.

Contest details...

“If a book of poems holds twenty-nine poems,
the book itself becomes the thirtieth.” – Robert Frost

A poetry contest for Sonoma and Marin County, California, poets.

Deadline April 20, 2011.

First prize ~ 100 copies of high-quality letterpress-printed chapbook. Reading, signing and sale at Copperfield’s Books in Sebastopol. Chapbook printed at Iota Press in Sebastopol.

Second and third prizes ~ 20 copies of letterpress-printed broadside and bookstore reading. Broadsides printed at Iota Press in Sebastopol.

Nonprofit mission ~ Promote poetry, the love of the printed word and Bibliophoria, a Sebastopol celebration of arts and literary events in June and July 2011.

Judging ~ The process was a blind review. Final judge was Gwynn O’Gara, Sonoma County Poet Laureate

Sponsors ~ Sebastopol Center for the Arts, Copperfield’s Books, and Iota Press

For more information about the contest or winners, contact Arlene Mandell: